RSS

Letting Go

13 Feb

Honey Bunches of Oats

I give my kids a lot to do in the kitchen. They prepare, cook, eat and clean. So you’d think it would be easy to hand over an entire meal to them. When I was pregnant with Charlotte a friend on Twitter suggested having the kids get their own breakfast, allowing me to rest longer. So, wait. That’s allowed? I can have my kids wake up and take care of themselves?? It was like a lightening bolt of duh for me. Isn’t that what I’d been preparing them for all along?

Sounds easy, right? This was a the biggest struggle I’ve faced in the kitchen. The biggest.

I had to let go. Not of control, I was fine letting them make their own choices. Their favorite cereal has always been Honey Bunches of Oats, so I wasn’t concerned about what they’d be eating. I knew they were fully capable. They could reach everything they needed, pouring wasn’t a problem.

I had to let go of that time, those moments. Every minute we were washing potatoes, beating eggs, picking out the right color bowl, we were doing it together. Our kitchen time is the best time for conversation. We really get to know one another on a deeper level while we prepare meals together.

I wasn’t sure I was ready to let them grow up that much.

I didn’t want them to not need me.

Luckily I have lovely children that are still as needy of me every other moment of the day. Sometimes all at once. At the same time as each other, and my husband, and the kitten. So, in the long run I was pleased to let them grow up a bit and get their own breakfast. Once, on a very special day that we will cherish forever, they ate and played for an entire hour. Brad and I were able to sleep in until 7:30. It was a glorious day.

Post provided us with a new type of Honey Bunches of Oats to try! All the following reviews are our own. After they got their own bowls, poured their cereal in, got the small container of milk out to add to their cereal, (spilled the milk, yelled at each other to find a towel, finally the baby got the towel and sopped it up) my kids had the following to say.

Pierce said “It’s fruity. I don’t like it…I love it!” followed by a chorus of “I don’t like it, I love it” from the others since his comment made me giggle.

Do you want to try the new Tropical Blends Honey Bunches of Oats? Leave me a comment below by 12am February 17th, 2013 to be entered in for a free box! For a second entry follow @HBOats on Twitter and leave a second comment here telling me you did.

After you’ve done that head over to enter the Tropical Trio sweepstakes on the Purex Brand Promotions page here. If you win the 4-night stay at Outrigger Waikiki I’d be happy to join you!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Letting Go

  1. dnpamorgan

    February 13, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    I wish I had the patience to be more open to letting the boys help me in the kitchen!! Ive been letting them help pour when baking and andrew made mac and cheese almost all by himself the other day so i guess thats a start right?

     
    • upnorthtwinmom

      February 13, 2013 at 7:37 pm

      That’s a great start!! Baby steps 😉

       
  2. katieanne111

    February 13, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    I can’t wait for E to help me in the kitchen! I love to cook and bake and I hope to pass that along to him. My future daughter-in-law will thank me someday! =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
